Beca scholarships recognise top engineering talent at the University of Auckland

Congratulations to the seven talented engineering students from the University of Auckland who received Beca scholarships in recognition of their potential to become outstanding engineers and add value to the engineering profession.

Presented last night at Beca House in Auckland, the ceremony was attended by the recipients, their family and friends, as well as representatives from Beca, the University of Auckland and Rotary Club.

"Graduate engineers are key part of successful future growth of Beca and New Zealand as a whole" said Jon Williams Business Director of Practice Development. "It is clear that engineers need to excel in areas beyond their individual technical disciplines. Through these scholarships, Beca encourages and rewards the academic achievement, community involvement and leadership abilities of our future engineers."

Three scholarships of $3,000 were awarded to students in their second year of the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) Degree. They are mechatronics engineering students Ashani Perera and Lucas de Rijk, and mechanical engineering student Kristy Yan Kei Leung.

Three scholarships of $3,500 were awarded to students in their final year of the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) Degree. They are engineering science student Penelope Maxwell, electrical and electronic engineering student Li-Jen Wang, and chemical and materials engineering student Joon Young Richard Park.

One scholarship of $6,000 was awarded to a student in the final year of the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours). This scholarship was given to the student who demonstrated the most outstanding combination of academic achievement, technical ability, leadership potential, and community contributions. Chemical and materials engineering student Matthew Lie was the 2015 recipient.

Beca has supported students through scholarships programmes for over 25 years. As well as the University of Auckland scholarships, we also award a variety of prizes each year to students at the University of Canterbury, the University of Waikato and Auckland University of Technology.